Five EC Football Players Named NACC Scholar-Athletes

Five EC Football Players Named NACC Scholar-Athletes

MILWAUKEE, Wis. – The Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference recognized six Eureka College football players as scholar-athletes for the 2019-20 academic year this week.

Chandler Boyd (Vandalia, Ill./Vandalia), Brendan Durr (Washington, Ill./Washington), Caleb Fauver (Catlin, Ill./Salt Fork), Nathaniel Garard (Gibson City, Ill./Gibson City-Melvin-Sibley), Corbin Heiken (El Paso, Ill./El Paso-Gridley) and Tim Wright (Watseka, Ill./Watseka) were all honored.

The NACC recognized more than 1,800 full-time student-athletes as scholar-athletes for the 2019-20 academic year. Student-athletes competing in the conference must maintain a grade point average of 3.25 or higher for the academic year to be eligible for the honor. Each academic year stands by itself for determination of this award.

Eureka is an associate member of the NACC and competes in the conference in football only.

Boyd, a sophomore fullback last season, is a criminal justice major.

Durr, a freshman linebacker last season, is studying pre-engineering. 

Fauver, a junior wide receiver last season, is majoring in business administration.

Garard, a freshman quarterback last season, was a 2019 Ronald Reagan Scholar.

Heiken, a sophomore criminal justice major, was the Red Devils' starting center in 2019, while Tim Wright, a freshman business major, joined him on the offensive line at left guard.